A Change (Or Four) Would Do You Good

I have this strange behavior; an odd way of thinking. I think it’s odd. It may be perfectly normal to someone else, but for now we’ll define it as “unusual”.

When I come to a point in my life where I feel the need to have a fresh slate from anything, I make something new. A new twitter handle, tumblr account, email account, username, etc…the list goes on. This has been something I have done for a while now. It can drive people crazy, I know. It drives me crazy, too, but regardless of how annoying it may sound?

It makes me feel better. It’s like I have taken in a deep breath and exhaled a whole lot of weight that may or may not have been there.

My reasons may range from anything from “I’m bored with the name”, “I wanted a new name”, or “I just need to start over”. Whatever the reason is, though, sometimes I wonder if there is something more to it. Is it some very mild case of OCD? A generic compulsive behavior? ADHD?

Yes, I know. It’s easy to jump on these particular bandwagons when trying to understand little ticks and quips about yourself and others. It does make me think, though. Like I said, this is not something that just recently came about, but something I have done for a number of years.

Regardless of what it is or what the true nature of the behavior may be, I think if it makes me feel better and happy, why not do it? I think if I were changing these sort of things every few days or weeks, there would be a more immediate need for concern, but it’s not like that.

Not at all.

Maybe it’s just the way I’m programmed where a different person does something else that makes them feel better; feel refreshed and renewed.

Leave a Reply

